Writing What You Can

RonPrice

Registered Member
I have tried writing stories, short stories and novels, novellas, narratives of different kinds. But I don’t seem to be any good at it; I don’t seem to have the knack. Even my narrative autobiography is more history, sociology, psychology and general forms of analysis than it is a storyline of my life. There may be a potential there in my literary psyche for future storytelling. I grew up in a literary house, heard stories especially from my mother; my grandfather wrote an autobiography. I was a teacher for over 30 years and was always telling stories or reading them. The Baha’i community and its literature is chocker-block full of stories and they have been part of my life for over half a century. The media thrive on the story and drama, fiction and non-fiction ad nauseam. My place of habitation, my home, has nearly always had its silence, its music and its literary life. But writing stories myself has never seemed quite natural for some reason. It always seemed slightly artificial.