• Welcome to the PopMalt Forums! Whether you're new to forums or a veteran, welcome to our humble home on the web! We're a 20-year old forum community with thousands of discussions on entertainment, lifestyle, leisure, and more.

    Our rules are simple. Be nice and don't spam. Registration is free, so what are you waiting for? Join today!.

MLB Why isn't it an earned run if the pitcher makes the error?

Crypticshock

Registered Member
Re: Why isn't it an earned run if the pitcher makes the erro

...because it was not earned with a baseball play (hit, sac fly, sac bunt, walk... etc) but an error.
 

BJBirdy

Registered Member
Re: Why isn't it an earned run if the pitcher makes the erro

I wanna know why sac bunts count as at-bats but sac flies don't.

I also wish that reaching on error counted toward your on-base percentage.
 

DrMiraculous

New Member
Re: Why isn't it an earned run if the pitcher makes the erro

that rule was probably drawn up by the same guy who decreed that a fly ball out that advances a runner from second to third isnt a sac fly. A run has to score for it to be a sacrifice on a fly ball.
 

Millz

Better Call Saul
Staff member
V.I.P.
Re: Why isn't it an earned run if the pitcher makes the erro

I firmly believe that if the pitcher makes the error himself and that allows a run to score that it should count against his ERA.
 
Top