Who here owns a business?

Mirage

Administrator
Staff member
V.I.P.
I'm interested in knowing if anybody here owns their own business?

I work for myself in web development and marketing. Does anybody else work for themselves, or work with a partner on a joint venture?

Basically, who else here doesn't have a boss? ;)

me...
i will have a company in one month from now. :) an internet based company with a portofolio of websites. i will sell web hosting, domains, and other related stuff.

yooperchick

Registered Member
Me...I still work for a "Boss". I'm supposed to be done at the end of this month, but today she mentioned about scheduling me for next month (ugh). I'm a bookkeeper at an accounting firm and a care a lot about my clients. I gave notice mid-July and I think I've been more than fair. I'm trying not to burn any bridges, but I think I'm being taken advantage of because she knows I care about my clients.

I am working on my own businesses helping people with their personal finances using Quicken/QuickBooks (and some non-local businesses). My boss wouldn't deal with personal finance because there is no money in it. But, I think there is a need out there and I already have one client and another one in the works (both from word of mouth). At least I can set my own hours while helping people.

I never, in a million years, thought I would be a business owner. I always thought I would be an employee. But, I filed the DBA, ordered some logo shirts and working on my business plan. I'm almost there!!
:)

Mirage

Administrator
Staff member
V.I.P.
Cool, keep us updated on how that goes. :) Don't say the name of your business, but I would recommend that you register the .com for it before saying the name to many people. Even if you won't use it now, it will be worth the $10 a year just to reserve for future use.

Mirage

Administrator
Staff member
V.I.P.
See I never doubted you for a second! :D

(Never hurts to doublecheck. :))