What makes a noob?

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by kiwi, May 25, 2008.

1. kiwi

kiwi The Original Kiwi

In your opinion, when is a noob no longer considered a noob? I don't know exactly how long this particular forum has been operating, but with member's that have known each other for years from assorted places, being here only a month or two makes you pretty new.

So is it the time length? How many posts and how active they are? How involved they get in other aspects of the forum (chat, poker, etc)? When do you no longer consider someone new to the forum?

icegoat63 likes this.

2. green8659

green8659 Registered Member

I don't know when exactly when you stop being a noob. I know that I'm still a noob. I guess when I get all the inside jokes that go on around here and get a little more rep that I'm not a noob anymore.

Jakey-D likes this.
  3. Mirage

Mirage Administrator Staff Member V.I.P.

I think once somebody hits around 500 posts or has been around for at least two months. Basically once you become a recognized "face", if you will. It all depends too. Playing the mafia games, survivor, poker, or just generally getting involved with the community will speed up the noob phase. I think it depends a lot on how active the person is during their first few months.

This forum has been operating in some form since 2000 or so. Nobody here except for me and one guy I know who comes and goes has been posting that long though.

And btw kiwi I wouldn't consider you a noob. :)

4. dDave

dDave Guardian of the Light V.I.P.

You stop being a noob when everyone knows who you are and you have contributed a lot, you stop being a noob when your post count goes over 100 and when you have friends that you enjoy talking to, you sort of get the feel for how different people are and get to know some people more than just their username.

For me when I think that I stopped being a noob was when I broke my first arcade high score.