Discuss What is your profession?

dDave

Guardian of the Light
V.I.P.
Pretty simple question.

I got a degree in CIS/IT in 2016.

I got a job as an IT technician at a local ministry in 2015. Eventually I made my way to be the senior Windows technician for end user services. I got to handle level 2 and level 3 service tickets/incidents with an occasional dabbling into level 4. I worked closely with my boss to set IT standards for both software and hardware. We were constantly working to improve our corner of influence in IT. I left that role after that boss left, he was amazing.

In 2017 I moved over to our Events Department and now work as an AV Engineer. I get to do tons of audio, sound boards, speakers, cables, TVs, video production, and production lighting.

I really like my current job and have no intention to move to something else at this time.

Last edited:

Bliss

Sally Twit
I have worked at the same company for 14 years, doing a variety of roles in that time. It's a telesales company which sells all computer related equipment - laptops, printers, cartridges, etc.
For the last six years I have worked as an 'assistant buyer', which means I am responsible for ordering some of the products we sell, then it's up to sales to sell said products and make a profit.

I don't enjoy my job, but it's an 8 minute drive from my home, the people are wonderful (mostly) and it pays the bills.

Smelnick

Creeping On You
V.I.P.