What do you think

Y

Yukon

In Matthew 5:5 Jesus taught the disciples: "Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth".

Have you ever stopped to think about the meaning of the word "meek"? What did you think it meant - humility, patience, or submissiveness?

I am a veteran of the Vietnam war and I have done terrible things in the name of the US Army. I consider myself though to be a very meek and mild man.

Duke1985

EatsApplePieShitsFreedom
Meek huh,

According to Dictionary.com

1.humbly patient or docile, as under provocation from others. 2.overly submissive or compliant; spiritless; tame. 3.Obsolete. gentle; kind.
I'm not entirely sure what we're debating here, but there is the definition.
I believe the quote your are referring to speaks of the humble, the poor, the oppressed, the sick.

In Matthew 5:5 Jesus taught the disciples: "Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth".

Have you ever stopped to think about the meaning of the word "meek"?

Nope.

What did you think it meant - humility, patience, or submissiveness?
The humbly patient men in the world will inherit the earth.

I am a veteran of the Vietnam war and I have done terrible things in the name of the US Army. I consider myself though to be a very meek and mild man.
That would only be the case if the submissive part was the intended meaning....

Humility is a key ingredient of meekness .. the bible itself is a deviation from humility .. to presume a place between the people & their connection with god is arrogant ..

We are meek when we observe each others choice humbly .. we are arrogant when we presume superiority over others ..

R

rozzlapeed

Let the meek inherit the earth. It ought to be a real fixer-upper by the time I get done with it.

Gavik

Registered Member

Have you ever stopped to think about the meaning of the word "meek"? What did you think it meant - humility, patience, or submissiveness?

Meek so that they wouldn't be violent and would be submissive to God.