What Do You know About Our Government?

AmericanMusic

Registered Member
What should I know about government branches and the US Congress, Senators, Governors, Presidents and Vice Presidents?

Ok let me explain what I mean by these questions. I only learned about the government in jr high. In high school they mostly taught Geography and World History.. Also because I graduated from a continuation school that didn't get too deep in subjects like that. . We just worked from the book. Read and answer questions. The teacher would help us to try to figure them out. The history class never had any lecture. Math, English and Science had some lectures.

So as you can see I only have a Jr high learning of government branches etc. . But I also took a trip to Washington D.C. that helped me a little bit to understand how complex it's to work on tons and tons of issues. Some never even had been voted on if it's really a bad idea or to many arguments.

I'll tell you what I know then whoever reads this that can help me to understand what I don't know about Congress, Presidents, Senators etc.

1. The president is elected every four years by electoral votes. They can only serve 2 terms of 8 years maximum if voted in the second term.
  2. There are 2 Senators that represent each state and that can serve 6 years. I don't know how many terms they are in a row.
Congress I believe is in the House of Representatives or is that the House of Republicans?
Well you see that's why I have a Jr high education and not all the right answers. Somehow the Congress is up to talk about laws and they vote and then the President either signs in it into law or vetoes it.

The govenor is the most powerful person with authority in each state. I don't know how many terms or years that a govenor can serve. i only know some govenors from California and Illinois where I live now.