Website

Discussion in 'Money & Investing' started by wolvergambit, Apr 30, 2005.

1. wolvergambit

wolvergambit Registered Member

I have decided I want to set up a website for Rick, with his story and photos. where people can come put comments as well and maybe donations.I don't have a clue how one goes about this or what I need to know as far as designing it. Are there any places on the web for idiots like me that will make it easier for me to understand how to set it up? I know nothing about html.

2. doubles2004

doubles2004 Registered Member

Hello
    Glad to hear you are wanting to do this. I think it is a great idea. wish i could help you set it up but. im still learning this myself {html} i am sure someone will come along here to help you i wish you all the luck for doing this .let us know when you get it set up

3. LicentiousVenus

LicentiousVenus Registered Member

there are many ways about going about this...i've just started getting into web design but am learning quicly since the programs are so similar to what i do everyday in school....first you need a domain (the addy of your site) depending on how you want to go about it there are free options like www.geocities.com Geocities is fine for personal use if you don't think the site will get much traffic...normal domains can be bought from numerous sites such as www.godaddy.com and others...they cost between 8 and 10 dollars per year....after you get your domain you need to get someone to host that domain....i have a friend that owns a hosting company (pm me and i'll give you his contact info, i don't know his pricing)....other than that...most sites that sell domains offer hosting options, shop around for the best deal...the prices range from a few dollars a month all the way up to around 50 a month...i suggest going fairly basic and you can upgrade from there