Tuna

Discussion in 'Health & Fitness' started by Babe_Ruth, Apr 26, 2010.

1. Babe_Ruth

Babe_Ruth Sultan of Swat Staff Member V.I.P.

I know this isn't the Food and Recipe section, but I decided to put this in Health and Fitness because it's more of a gaining weight/muscle type of question.

First I am thinking of starting to eat Tuna, I've never tried it before, but it smells disgusting. I heard it has a lot of protein so it's good for you when your working out. Is that true?

What other type of food would you guys suggest as well?

2. storm_ina_C_cup

storm_ina_C_cup Registered Member

Here are some other foods high in protein that you might want to try:

Eggs (hardboiled)
    Fish (all varieties)
    Chicken, Turkey & Lamb
    Kidney Beans
    Lean Red meat (beef, Venison)
    Low Fat Dairy (cottage cheese, milk, yogurt)

3. Blueyes

Blueyes Registered Member

how have you managed to never have tuna? I'm somewhat shocked lol

you should try some of the prepackaged tuna StarKist® | StarKist Creations™

I like the herb and garlic with some mayo.

also grilling tuna is good too especially if you put some seasoning on it. cook it just like a steak if you so choose.

4. Babe_Ruth

Babe_Ruth Sultan of Swat Staff Member V.I.P.

I don't like the smell of it, so I never tried it. I imagine I should take no-fat mayonaise if I do add it with my tuna?

Not a fan of fish so that is definitely out of the question, but I use to love hard-boiled eggs as a kid, but one day at school I got sick from it and never tried it ever since. Might give it another shot. I usually just put three eggs in a glass and drink it(Rocky style)

5. Raos

Raos Registered Member

Cooked tuna and raw tuna are completely different animals. Raw tuna smells and tastes and looks nothing at all like cooked. Raw tuna has a very fresh clean taste (like a glass of good quality fresh cold water). Try some raw tuna if you have it available. It is very healthy and delicious.

6. dDave