Strikes & Picketers

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by icegoat63, Jul 1, 2008.

1. icegoat63

icegoat63 Son of Liberty V.I.P. Lifetime

What are your opinions on Strikes and Picketers?

Today is the first day that my company will be 100% Non-Union, so naturally the union that has taken advantage of, striked against, and sued us in the past is now picketing in front of our Shop.

Me personally I am not a Pro-Union person. I feel that the days of the Union were numbered a Long time ago. Their sole purpose was to create better working conditions for people who had it real bad. Now a days there are unions for everything and worst of all its as though they have all lost track of their original goals.

When I see picketers I cant help but laugh, I mean is there any other better way to waste talent? These are men and women who specialize in a trade and instead of working for the better of everyone around them they are stomping around with signs in front of a place of business that refuses to see things their way.

2. Danger_Mouse

Danger_Mouse Registered Member

I would have a tendency to agree with you however I can see that union's still have some functionality. A work collegue raised a case of bullying against a manager and had alot of support from the union she was a member off when it came to presenting the case to HR etc..

What I don't understand is Union's organising pay strikes and then asking for raises that are astronomical and completely unjustified.. i.e the petrol tanker drivers over here just got a 14% pay increase when your average joe may get 3% :|

3. ysabel

ysabel /ˈɪzəˌbɛl/ pink 5

If there's a system of real dialogue between employers and employees, then unions are not necessary. However it's not always the case. Some companies will only listen to their employees when threatened with strike or public protest. Are their unions who abuse, yes. It doesn't make idea of strikes bad - but the one who abuses the idea.

4. Swiftstrike