Should I have a few shots before my Presentation?

Discussion in 'Advice Board' started by steeeve, Nov 8, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. steeeve

steeeve New Member

hey guys. so I'm a 20 year-old university student, and i have to give a presentation on wednesday. it is 45 mins long, although i have 3 partners, so it would be divided up into just over 10 minutes each.

i have mild social phobia / social anxiety, which is more or less an unexplainable fear of being in the presence of large crowds. it is much worse when i have to speak in front of said large crowd. i haven't done any sort of presentation in about 3 years, and i'm nervous just thinking about it. the last one i had was pretty embarassing. my heart was pounding and my throat closed up, and i could barely think. i couldn't even get the words out of my mouth.

i am very sociable with friends, especially when i'm at the bar or at a party. i find that alcohol allows me to release inhibitions, and be able to express myself without being awkward or anything.

i know this doesnt sound professional (nor does it really need to be, since it is just a minor presentation) but i'm thinking of taking a few shots to help relax me. i just want to know what others' opinion are of my choice.

p.s... none of the stuff like "picture them in their underwear" or "do breathing exercises" really works for me... i just want to know what you think of my decision.

thanks guys.

2. Merc

Merc Certified Shitlord V.I.P. Lifetime

If you honestly want to know, I think you're an idiot for even considering it.

You're so worried about your anxiety getting the best of you, what will happen if you drink a bit too much and get all bubbly in front of the class? There's only one way to get over that kind of social fear (I have accomplished it, it's not easy) is to simply do it. Keep at it, nothing more. Open your presentation with something fun or engaging, get people laughing and that may help ease your tension.