Should athletes have the choice?

Discussion in 'Sports' started by Babe_Ruth, Aug 3, 2009.

1. Babe_Ruth

Babe_Ruth Sultan of Swat Staff Member V.I.P.

As you all may know after athletes play in their respecting sport they have to talk to the media. Some of them actually get fined if they don't.

Should athletes have the choice weather or not they can talk to the media or not without getting fined?

Personally I think they do. If I was an athlete on a professional team and I was coming off a huge lost(especially if the playoffs) last thing I want to do is talk to the media. I'd probably get more fined by the cussing that I would do in that interview then missing an appointment with them.

Thoughts?

2. Mirage

Mirage Administrator Staff Member V.I.P.

Well the league sets the rules for this. If the athlete signs something that says they will talk to the media (which is generally done when they sign their big contracts) then I think they should be held to it.

The leagues don't want people who are going to come across as sore losers, bad sports, etc. I agree with the league when they ask people to talk to the media. In the end, they signed something that said they would so if they don't they deserve to get the fine.

3. Babe_Ruth

Babe_Ruth Sultan of Swat Staff Member V.I.P.

Sorry but these guys are mostly all competetive, I wouldn't consider them sore losers.

When I was playing Basketball and Baseball in high school I hated losing, and if we did end up losing I didn't really want to talk to anyone because all I wanted to do is win. Now I don't consider myself a sore loser, I just hate losing and these athletes are the same way.

I know they sign contracts, but personally I don't believe it should be printed in contracts in the first place.

4. Konshentz

Konshentz Konshentz