Short Story - "Need a Ride?"

Discussion in 'Art & Creative' started by Chaos, Apr 23, 2008.

1. Chaos

Chaos Epic Gamer V.I.P. Lifetime

Ok, I know its not the best story ever but I thought "why not". It's my first attempt at writing in the first person perspective so don't expect it to be the equivalent of Stephen King :lol: Any feedback/criticism is welcome.

Need a Ride?

I drummed my fingers on the wheel to the beat of the radio, eyes on the road ahead. It was hard, keeping my concentration on the road; the rain pounding on the window, the steady swish of the wipers, the same scenery passing by for miles on end. I hadn’t seen another car for three or four hours. I was travelling on a dark back road through the countryside, thick, jungle-like forestry as far as the eye could see, the car headlamps the only source of light visible.
    I checked the clock on the dashboard; 00.43 a.m. I held back a yawn, arching my back, trying to get some feeling back into my shoulders. I was going to have to stop soon, I needed to pee. Eying the wet scenery by the side of road, I wasn’t much looking forward to standing in the rain under a dripping bush.
    I took a sip of water from the bottle, turning my attention once more to the road ahead. Then I saw it; a glimmer of light in the distance stretch of the tarmac. It was hard to see much of anything in the rain; I slowed down to about half the limit, straining to make out the source of the light.
    After about a mile and a half, I saw it. A car, parked on the opposite side of the road, facing my direction. I slowed some more as I got closer. Then, from about twenty foot away, I saw a figure, standing by the hood. Wearing a tan, knee-length raincoat, staring at my car.
    Remembering a time from my younger days, stranded on the side of a road for hours, hoping for someone to pull over and offer some help, I stopped at the side of the road and wound down the window.