Pre-Packaged Sandwiches

Discussion in 'Food & Beverage' started by HalfEatenSurprise, Sep 19, 2010.

1. HalfEatenSurprise

HalfEatenSurprise Registered Member

I find these products to be something of a mystery.

For starters, they are complete rip-offs. Generally cut into triangles, using up two slices of bread and filled according to a label. They are pricey, when you think about it. For instance, I work in a shop, and they sell them - For a chicken mayo you're looking at £2.29 --

That's the price of a pint of ale.
    The price of a bargain bin DVD.
    The price of an entire dinner if you shop around.

This is just a basic filling, other fillings can set you back almost £4, if not more. The fillings are quite an interesting thing too, they seem to be constantly evolving.

There must be at least 70 different types of filling/sandwich we do at our little shop alone. We do wraps (fajita and khobex style), we do brown bread, white bread, malted bread (whatever that is), we do breadcakes and subs... It seems endless.

There's chicken, and chicken mayo, and chicken tikka. Sweet chilli chicken, chicken balti, coronation chicken --- That's just a frigging chicken. Never mind the cheeses, hams, eggs, lettuces, beefs and whatever else we bloody do.

I know, sarnies in this form have been around a while. Yet I find it hard to pinpoint the exact moment when they came into fruition. I never really noticed until I began working, they never had them at school. I suspect they've been around for donkey's years, but I wouldn't know, and although I am a bit geeky sometimes, I don't think I'm quite geeky enough to go and find out. Anyway...

It is profoundly expensive to keep buying them, yet I sell myself into it. Time and time again, just because of the 'convenience factor'.