PayPal

Mr_Snipes

Registered Member
At work, we accept PayPal payments for the products that we sell. It sure is nice to use but they take a cut of the money that we receive from the customer so we don't get all of the money. It they didn't charge a fee for every single transaction it wouldn't be so bad.

What do you guys think?

yooperchick

Registered Member
I actually don't think PayPal is too bad of a way to go if you don't have too much activity per month. Especially for a start-up business. As a bookkeeper, I've seen quite a few credit card merchant statements. As for their monthly fees....OUCH!

What I think many businesses do is try to add money to the price of their products to compensate for the fees.

The fees stink, but let me tell you, NSF check fees stink too! Not to mention the time and effort to collect the funds! :-/

Mirage

Administrator
Staff member
V.I.P.
As long as they raise their prices overall, that is fine, but credit cards don't allow merchants to ask for more money if, for example, the customer is using a VISA card. This is the same for PayPal. You aren't allowed to ask for more money to compensate your fees unless you also charge your cash paying customers the same.

Technically stores make less money when you pay with a credit card, but in the long run, they make way more, because now all of their customers can spend money they don't have instead of saving up first. :)

Mr_Snipes

Registered Member
That is true, but the fees still stink. It would be nice to have a fee based system that charged a monthly subscription fee and nothing else. If that was the case, businesses would try to get customers to use that one because no matter how many transactions they had during a month the fees would stay the same.

lzamora

Registered Member