Paying rent

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Babe_Ruth, Jan 29, 2010.

1. Babe_Ruth

Babe_Ruth Sultan of Swat Staff Member V.I.P.

No I'm not talking about when you move out of your parents house. What I'm asking here is when you lived or if your staying there right now did you/are you paying rent?

As soon as I graduated high school I started paying rent, I didn't go to College straight after I graduated High School so my parents made me pay rent, at first it wasn't a big amount, but my dad raised it ever so often.

When I went to college I didn't have to pay anymore.

How about you guys?

2. Rebeccaaa

Rebeccaaa yellow 4!

No, I never gave money to my parents. When I left school, I knew I'd be living at home for a year before moving out. I asked them if they wanted me to pay rent and they said no. I think it's because I'm really good with money compared to my brother. If they ever lent me some I'd always pay it back, and I often rejected it when they offered to pay for something. I never got pocket money or anything, partly because I was walking dogs and babysitting for about 4 years before college. Years of that is probably what got me off the hook in terms of rent. That, and I didn't actually manage to get a job until half way through my year out.

3. Smelnick

Smelnick Creeping On You V.I.P.

I'm paying rent to my mom right now. But I pay for the internet as well. I also have to pay my share of the hydro bill, and the gas money. Once I go back to college my mom says I won't have to pay rent. But I will probably still give her something.

4. wolfheart

wolfheart Registered Member

I started paying rent to my parents as soon as I landed my first job, so about a week after I left school.