Martial Arts Belt Ranking

Discussion in 'Sports' started by AnitaKnapp, Jul 2, 2009.

1. AnitaKnapp

AnitaKnapp It's not me, it's you. V.I.P. Lifetime

Do you think that they give away belts these days? Especially to younger children?

I ask this because last night I grappled with a 13 or 14 year old boy. He was a black belt, I am currently a beginner and a yellow belt. I tapped him out 3 times within a minute each time, and after the 3rd time I "hurt" him and he didn't want to grapple anymore.

Yes, he was young...and yes, I've been told I have a natural ability at it...but, shouldn't his skill still surpass mine by far?

I feel like they're catering to the "everyone gets a prize" type thing, and that this boy never should have gotten near a black belt, but did anyway so that his feelings wouldn't be hurt. Is this normal everywhere, or just at my particular gym?

2. Italiano

Italiano Film Elitist

There are a lot of McDojos floating around these days. I haven't gotten back into martial arts for almost a year just because school and work got in the way but I damned well could surpass a few black belts at different studios.

I always shop around a little bit, see what school or dojo I think is giving the best training and discipline in their program and decide for myself where I want to study. The problem is that the system of rank that is implemented in these dojos is not always based on skill but merely time. It's a faulty system which promotes more inexperienced martial artists to higher ranks than deserving.

I'd try to avoid those McDojo establishments as much as possible. The toughest training doesn't really do shit if you're learning a partial art.

3. AnitaKnapp

Well, I don't believe it's a "McDojo" as you call it. It's privately owned. Most people there seem to be really skilled, and I am learning a lot. It just seems that they just give away belts to younger students, IMO.