• Welcome to the PopMalt Forums! Whether you're new to forums or a veteran, welcome to our humble home on the web! We're a 20-year old forum community with thousands of discussions on entertainment, lifestyle, leisure, and more.

Our rules are simple. Be nice and don't spam. Registration is free, so what are you waiting for? Join today!.

Liquor Purchasing Laws and You

Candicecanes

Registered Member
I'll start off with a little background of myself. I'm 21 years old, turning 22 in June. I live in Massachusetts, very close to Boston. I'm a student currently enrolled in Community College. Now as you can probably gather, I don't drive, nor do I have a driver's license because public transportation is very easily accessible. Not to mention living in such close proximity to the city (and only recently moving out of the middle of it), isn't cheap... nor is owning a car (let alone tuition costs for school). Also, I don't have a passport as I've never left the country. Granted, that's something I will eventually get as I would love to travel the world assuming I came into enough money to allow it.

Now onto the meat and potatoes of this post. *My apologies for the upcoming rant. I expect I'll run in circles a bit.*
Yesterday, a friend and I went to the local liquor store to, obviously, buy some alcohol. When we go to checkout, I am carded. Nothing new... I barely look 18. Now, I only have my Mass state issued identification which shouldn't be a problem right? Well apparently it is. Little did I know, alcohol cannot be purchased without either a driver's license, military ID, Passport or Liquor license in the state of Massachusetts.