Joe Calazaghe retires

Bananas

Endangered Species
Calzaghe retires with 46-0 record

For months, light heavyweight champion Joe Calzaghe has been saying he would probably retire.
On Thursday, he did.
Perhaps the greatest fighter in Welsh history, Calzaghe, a two-division world champion and one of the best fighters pound-for-pound in the world, announced his retirement from boxing, saying he had nothing left to accomplish.
[+] Enlarge
AP Photo/Frank Franklin IIJoe Calzaghe outpointed Roy Jones Jr. on Nov. 8 in his last fight.

"It was a difficult decision but I have achieved everything I wanted to achieve in boxing. I've been world champion for 11 years. I've got no other goals to go for. That's why I am calling it a day," Calzaghe, 36, told BBC. "I had a long think with my family. My children wanted me to give up, plus my mum. That's why I called it a day and will go on to do something else. My decision is to retire. I've been boxing for 25 years and, like I said, I've achieved everything I want to achieve."
Calzaghe is walking away as one of the rare fighters in history to retire undefeated. At 46-0 with 32 knockouts, Calzaghe dominated the 168-pound super middleweight division. He won a vacant belt by outpointing former champion Chris Eubank on Oct. 11, 1997, and made 21 title defenses during an 11-year reign until moving up to light heavyweight, where he outpointed Bernard Hopkins to win the title in April in his first fight in the United States.

Its a shame to see him retire, I would of liked to of seen him have a couple more fights both at home and in the USA, as his presence was never fully appreciated or promoted west of the Atlantic. It would of also been good to see him go for Rocky Marciano's unbeaten record, he was only 3 fights away but still 46 undefeated and holding two divisions is an accomplish in itself.

wolfheart

Registered Member
I agree its a shame to hear he is hanging up his gloves.