Input Please

Sephy

Forum Drifter
Ok first off I'm not too good at these but I was writing a story a long time ago and that comp crashed and I lost it all. Well I started a new one and I would like input before I moved on with it. So please take the time to read and be brutally honest. Thanks :)

I have been alive now for 62 days. Most of it seems like a blur, just wandering in search of food, struggling to survive. The military used to send out raids looking for people that hadn’t turned but those raids come less and less frequently now. I prefer it by myself and avoid them. Ever since my wife left two years ago I have found peace in my solitude. This suits me just fine.

It’s seven o’clock in the morning now and a fog is covering the city. Up ahead I see an abandoned old sedan parked on the side of the road. Most of the windows are smashed and blood stains cover the paint. I say abandoned because I don’t like to think of what might have happened to the family. There’s a teddy bear laying in the back seat all alone staring up at the roof. I open the driver side door and get in. The keys are in the ignition. What luck. I turn the key and the car does absolutely nothing.

“Fuck!” I yell out at no one.

Talking to myself seems to calm me down now. I get out of the car and continue walking towards the outskirts. I was in downtown for most of the two months since the outbreak occurred. The news told us not to leave our homes. Eventually food started running out and people had to leave their houses to even survive. That’s when it spread rapidly. So far over half the world has been infected with no signs of relief or cure. I’m lucky to still be alive. My backpack is overfilled with canned goods, knives, shotgun shells, and whatever I find along the way that may come in handy.