If introductions were cucumbers...

Hatton

Registered Member
... a whole lot of us would be in a pickle!

Howdy folks, got a personal invitation from Babe_Ruth to the forums. Looks like a fun place.

I'm a Renaissance Geek - more on that below. In short, I'm a programmer, podcaster, lay preacher, amateur musician (play tuba, sing baritone), amateur radio operator, and proud pappa.

Links and more info for anything stated here can be provided upon request. I'm leaving them out based on the apparent restrictions on advertising and general linking.

Here's a more detailed explanation...
What's a Renaissance Geek? Well if Merriam-Webster defines a Renaissance Man as "a person who has wide interests and is expert in several areas" and most of the areas that I'm good at are geek-related, that'd be a Renaissance Geek! When I say a lot of different areas, here's an idea:

* I have been working as a web application developer for a decade with several large scale applications under my belt.
* I used to be an instructor at a technical college in Getzville, Ny. There I taught networking, programming and electronics classes.
* I no longer have to tell my mother how to click on an icon, my 7 year old daughter does that for me
* I'm an Extra Class Ham Radio operator and work to help others earn and upgrade their license by moderating a Yahoo group called the "Ham Radio Help Group".
* I have successfully navigated the maze of corporate account services for phone and cable to get a business wired and wireless, which is much more difficult than the providers wanted to admit.
* I still remember the adlibs and "activities" for a live showing of Rocky Horror Picture Show
* I'm a layspeaker at my church and will deliver sermons (that's another way to say preach) at my church every now and then.
* I sing baritone/bass in my church choir.
* I'm a tuba player in a local volunteer fire company sponsored community band.