Hurricaine Katrina and the Economy

Discussion in 'Money & Investing' started by yooperchick, Sep 16, 2005.

1. yooperchick

yooperchick Registered Member

First things first, I got a C in Economics - so I am far from an expert....

With Hurricaine Katrina, how do you feel it will impact the US economy? My boss thinks it will be horrible for the economy and things will start going downhill. I guess I'm a little more hopeful that any hit the economy takes will not last long.

I have heard of a few contractors in our area thinking of going down South for the winter to help rebuild. We get a lot of snow here and usually they have little work in the winter. I'm actually not too sure what to think of the impact that will have on our local economy.

It was suggested to me that people from the South who are affected that didn't have jobs/job experience should be hired on to rebuild. That way they would earn money and job experience to go forward and rebuild their life. Interesting concept, but not sure of how that could work.

Any thoughts?

2. Mr_Snipes

Mr_Snipes Registered Member

Well I think that it will hurt the economy a little bit. Just look at the gas prices for a little while after Katrina. But now they have come down. The effects will probably be felt for a year or two with unemployment and other facts coming into play. But I think as a whole the economy will recover from Katrina without serious problems.

3. Mirage

Mirage Administrator Staff Member V.I.P.

That's a good point. There are going to be a lot of construction and contracting jobs opening up down there soon. I don't see that as a negative, because that will spread out the work, and give the remaining contractors (the ones who stay in their hometowns) an easier time finding projects.. Although, something that COULD happen is that they will charge more, if a lot of the workforce leaves... which could effect their local economy..

4. dize

dize Registered Member