• Welcome to the PopMalt Forums! Whether you're new to forums or a veteran, welcome to our humble home on the web! We're a 20-year old forum community with thousands of discussions on entertainment, lifestyle, leisure, and more.

Our rules are simple. Be nice and don't spam. Registration is free, so what are you waiting for? Join today!.

How do you study?

Babe_Ruth

Sultan of Swat
Staff member
V.I.P.
My tenant is studying for a job exam right now, and he's listening to music at the same time. I could never do that.

So, it made me think of this thread. How do you study?

For me, I need it to be completely quiet so I can concentrate on what I'm studying. If there is noise around me, I wouldn't not be able to retain the information.

thealigator

Registered Member
I used to listen to music when I was studying for an exam. I also used to listen to music when I was coming up with a script or poetry. For me the reason for this is that it blocked out thoughts that would occupy my mind. In a way I wasn't listening to the music, I was blocking out any outside thoughts that were prone to distract me if that makes sense? It stopped me from over thinking things and allowed me to be more creative.

EdgeHead

Registered Member
I was like that too when I was in school. It's not that you're listening to the music or watching what's on TV. It's just having something going on in the background that made me more comfortable. I just hate silence for some reason. I get exactly what thealigator is saying.

Dr4gon

Registered Member
V.I.P.
I always grab the cans or the earbuds. It blocks all the noise everybody else is making so I can study. I can also concentrate more if Im hearing stuff thats totally me. I seriously doubt that I could ever study without music. I would be way too distracted to think.

BJBirdy

Registered Member