How do I prove myself (to an abuse survivor...?)

Zarathushtra

Registered Member
Hi all,
This is my first time posting on this forum about this kind of issue... It could get long, so please bare with me.

In short: My girlfriend and I have been together five years. We are currently on sort of a break. We've lived together four of those five years and now she isn't living here anymore.

Now I'll back track a little and tell you all why she isn't living here anymore. I will admit from the getgo that I screwed up.

She's an abuse survivor... and five years ago when I met her she was trapped in a very bad abusive marriage. We connected right from the beginning. It was instant... And soon after she moved out of the apartment she shared with her now ex husband and in with her sister. After a year or so dating, she moved in with me.

Here's where (part of) the problem enters the picture... I have a roommate. To make this easier I'll call him T.) But he's not just my roommate, he's also a close friend. Him and I have a brotherly kind of relationship. I moved to the US in 1996 and he was the first real friend I made here. Him and I have lived together for 11 years (in three different places.)

I guess this next part is really going to throw a lot of people off... but it has to be mentioned because it's part of the story... When my girlfriend moved in T and her became pretty good friends also. They have a lot of things in common and they have very similar senses of humor. People we know say she acted like she was dating both of us. And some of the more gossipy people we know even though all three of us were in a relationship.