Help With Fonts

Ok, so I'll admit... choosing what font to use in my images is something I hate, and people tell me I'm not very good at it. When I look at other people's images, bad fonts can really ruin the image. Basically, font's are important, but it seems like a lot of people have troubles with them.

What are some pointers about how to choose a font? Are there any general guidelines of what makes one font better than another for any given image, or for those of you who think you're good at choosing fonts, why do you choose a certain font over another for an image?

Also, font effects... besides just choosing the font itself, a font has to blend into the image. What are some suggestions for how to do this, and how to make text look like more than just letters, but part of the image itself?

D

Ds136

it needs to be readable, clear and crisp is my rule. Alot of the time people try to add blur effects, and all these other filters. They usually dont work at all, I tend to stay away from filters on text, if i want the text to have a certin look I just manipulate by hand.

Typography is an art of its own, from my expierences most people suck at it. It takes time and practice is all i can really say. You learn what fonts look good when to use serif fonts verse san-serifs.

Like I'm looking at the fonts in your sig now they are horrible. the one in your userbar is totally out of place the glow dosen't fit, and its just too large for the image. I'd have tried someing smaller but a bit bolder. The font in your sig, is much to plan to be by its self, it needs to have some design aspect to it.

If your really intrested in art, a typography class will do wonders, i took one in highschool one of my favorite classes.

BigBlue

----------------------