Help - My current life situation

Discussion in 'Advice Board' started by Valentine, Jun 25, 2008.

1. Valentine

Valentine New Member

Hey everybody,

My 'problem' is fairly simple. I recently turned 18 and feel I have done nothing with my life, haven't done the things you're supposed to have done by the age of 18 basically. The only thing I can be somewhat proud of is that I'm a good student, however, that's something I'd give up in an instant for certain other things (sounds desperate, I know).

Before I moved here (1,5 years ago) I had plenty of friends and I was a relatively popular guy. I moved here thinking it wouldn't be too bad, considering change is supposed to be good, educational and whatnot.

I'm in (..trying to think of a good equivalent) what you'd call High School I suppose, and I'm about to start my final year. I've made about 4-5 'good' friends here, all of whom I spend time with when I'm at school (mainly 3 of them, but still).

The problem, however, is that none of them ever call me. In other words, we've never hung out. And I'm personally way too proud to pick up the phone, I refuse to be that guy, the guy who's always calling being a pain in the ass - the guy nobody really wants around. The reason they don't call is because they've already got their group of friends, which makes things even harder for me.

This leads to the next problem - girls. I haven't had a girlfriend in forever, and I'm losing my mind. In the past I've met girls by going out with a bunch of friends (and I've already explained how great my friends are :-/). To be honest, I wouldn't give a shit about my so called friends if I had a girlfriend, it would make things a lot easier so to speak.

As I said earlier, I'm about to start my final year, and unless things change dramatically I'll still be stuck in this ridiculously depressing circle.