• Welcome to the PopMalt Forums! Whether you're new to forums or a veteran, welcome to our humble home on the web! We're a 20-year old forum community with thousands of discussions on entertainment, lifestyle, leisure, and more.

Our rules are simple. Be nice and don't spam. Registration is free, so what are you waiting for? Join today!.

Health care as a right = slavery

SmilinSilhouette

Registered Member

Merc

Problematic Shitlord
V.I.P.
His logic is so broken he should be running security for Sony.

SEN. RAND PAUL (R-KY): "With regard to the idea of whether you have a right to health care, you have realize what that implies. It's not an abstraction. I’m a physician. That means you have a right to come to my house and conscript me. It means you believe in slavery."

Not only does he clearly lack the slightest clue about the topic he is attempting to smear, but his logic is completely broken. A right to health care is not a doctor waltzing into your house and "health-raping" you as Paul seems to imply. With any hot button issue there is going to be spin, but this is just laughably bad. He would have had a better chance convincing people by claiming Stalin's last breath was, "I hope Obama forces Americans to be healthy".

I think Americans should have a right to healthcare (the methods are up for another thread) but I'm completely failing to see how he is equating a right to anything to slavery. So does that mean if you believe in your right to free speech, you're a slaver? What about the right to a fair trial? Slavery? Or is he trying to claim it's just in a business sense? We know these systems can work, other countries have shown this. It wouldn't be easy for America to adopt a system of free anything because we're a nation founded on the concept of hard work and earning your pay (even though plenty of people break that mold).