Going on sales appointments

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Millz, Jan 14, 2008.

1. Millz

Millz Black 7! Staff Member V.I.P.

Is there anybody else who is in sales who has to go on these as a part of their job? This is my third year with the organization and the first year I am required to go out on sales calls. I am given a list of zip codes and have to make cold calls and see if people will meet with me to talk about our programs. I'm not exactly a big fan of doing these and since I'm new with them, it is going to be pretty intimidating I think at the beginning.

Anybody who's done these before have any advice?

2. Mirage

Mirage Administrator Staff Member V.I.P.

You should watch "The Office: Sales Training".

Actually scratch that. It will only discourage you. :D Seriously though, I've been in sales off and on for many years now. It's really about selling the client on you. If they don't think you know what you are talking about, then it won't matter how well you say it.

If you are meeting with them in person then that's even better. You have to think that by agreeing to a meeting they are already open to the idea of your product or service. You just have to relax and be yourself with them, professionally speaking of course. Don't act like you HAVE to make the sale or they will be able to see that. Just be upfront, personal, and friendly with them.

When they ask questions don't take it as an offensive maneuver on their part. A lot of people get defensive when people ask questions during a sales call. The answer is really just to give them the answer, in plain terms and as easy to understand as possible. Don't baby your answer or talk down to them, but instead feel them out and get an idea of where they are coming from. That way you can more easily level with them.