do you judge people

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by tradtke, Jul 2, 2010.

1. tradtke

tradtke Registered Member

Even on TV you can find commercials trying to educate people the importance of not judging people, but I think no matter what it's human nature to judge people on some level. Everyone you see you have an impression of them even if they don't say a word you see how they walk, dress and generally act. Is this really a bad thing? It can be a good thing because if you see someone that just does not appear safe maybe it will keep you away. Even if that person turns out to be the friendliest person you would ever meet It might protect you in the future. If you skip on 5 friendly people but avoid that 1 dangerous person, isn't the sacrifice of 5 people worth it..to me, yes, unfortunately because of the world we live in.

I work in law enforcement and to me everyone is a threat until proven otherwise. I don't let my guard down because one second that friendly person could be just fine, the next they can have a knife.

2. Jessticles

Jessticles Registered Member

Of course I judge people, as does every other human being. It's human nature. We will all judge people based on certain factors, and the second they open their mouth and express opinions, you'll continue to judge them.

We can always be proved wrong, but it's outright stupid to think that you don't make a judgement about people.

We do it on a daily basis, as a pure example, think of a guy who appears to be strung out on drugs stumbling towards you - there's a number of judgements instantly made by most people, a number of reactions made, such as turning away, talking a different direction, becoming nervous, clutching a bag closer.

3. PearlyQ

PearlyQ New Member

I judge people all the time, even though I have been pretty much brainwashed not to. That just makes me feel more guilty, because I know it's "wrong"...but, I cant help it. Makes me wonder if I am just a snob...

4. Wade8813