• Welcome to the PopMalt Forums! Whether you're new to forums or a veteran, welcome to our humble home on the web! We're a 20-year old forum community with thousands of discussions on entertainment, lifestyle, leisure, and more.

Our rules are simple. Be nice and don't spam. Registration is free, so what are you waiting for? Join today!.

Dismal job hunting

wazupdoc

Registered Member
I don't know about anyone else but I'm having a hell of a time on the job hunting scene in NYC. I'm a graphic designer by trade and have sent resume after resume for positions I am qualified for - in some cases perfectly so - only to hear nothing in response. I keep reading about how there's a labor shortage and there's more work than there are qualified candidates and yet, somehow, I am still unemployed. If anyone's got any secrets I'd love to be let in on them.

Mr_Snipes

Registered Member
I know what you mean. I have been searching for work in Nebraska for almost 6 months. I find jobs that I am qualified for and apply, only to have them not reply or tell me that they are not interested, or I am not qualified even though I am way over-qualified.

Mirage

Secret Agent
Staff member
V.I.P.
Hey Doc,

What kind of graphic design do you do? I might have a few small projects for you depending on what you do. Shoot me an email or a PM and we can talk more. :)

mamab

Registered Member
Have you tried the post-your-resume-online places like Monster.com? I hear they do a decent job of helping people find jobs, even though I'm not in the market myself and have never used them. I know some people that have, though, and they were pleased with the outcome.

taiarain

Registered Member
The job market's tight around me as well. We've had neighbors get laid off only to end up at a video chain while they struggled to find work in their field. In a lot of ways, makes me glad I'm self-employed.

Taggart

Registered Member
I haven't connected with a job there, but have you tried craigslist?