Detroit Red Wings perched atop the Western Conference in XM / NHL All-Star Fan Ballot


Registered Member

NEW YORK – The Detroit Red Wings have three of the four top spots among all Western Conference vote-getters in the XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports. Red Wings defenseman Nicklas Lidstrom holds onto the lead in the West for the consecutive week with 246,144 votes while forwards Henrik Zetterberg (175,270) and Pavel Datsyuk (134,661) are second and fourth, respectively. Calgary Flames defenseman Dion Phaneuf continues to occupy the third spot with 170,477 votes. More than 6.48 million votes have been cast in the all-digital voting program.

The voting will determine the starting lineups for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game, which will be played on Sunday, Jan. 27 in Atlanta (6 p.m. ET, VERSUS, CBC, RDS, NASN, NHL Radio). Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for write-in votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL Clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.

Rounding out the top 10 in votes are forward Jarome Iginla (124,337) of the Calgary Flames; goaltenders Roberto Luongo (121,008) of the Vancouver Canucks and Pascal Leclaire (116,747) of the Columbus Blue Jackets; defenseman Chris Pronger (109,755) of the Anaheim Ducks; and forwards Joe Sakic (98,026) of the Colorado Avalanche and Mike Cammalleri (94,187) of the Los Angeles Kings.

Through Jan. 2, fans around the world can go online at to “Vote Now, Vote Often” for the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star starters for the 2008 NHL All-Star Game. U.S. fans also can cast votes through Verizon Wireless Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones.

On, the XM/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports section features an interactive ballot, showcasing players with video clips, photos and virtual video game highlights created from in-game NHL® 2K8 footage. Residents of the United States and Canada who vote are able to register for a chance to win a variety of daily prizes, including XM XpressRC radios with three months of free service, 2K Sports games, autographed 2008 NHL All-Star jerseys and gift certificates.

One grand-prize winner will receive a trip for two to attend the 2008 NHL All-Star Game as guests of XM. The winner will watch the game in a private suite with former NHL players. Additionally, each registered voter will automatically qualify to receive a 14-day free trial of XM Radio Online.

Verizon Wireless customers can vote and can register for the sweepstakes by voting using their Mobile Web 2.0-enabled phones. The process is simple: launch the Mobile Web browser, select Sports, select NHL Mobile and then select All-Star Balloting. To vote, follow the instructions on the screen.

The 2008 NHL All-Star Weekend in Atlanta will feature live national broadcasts of the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event on Saturday, Jan. 26 and the NHL All-Star Game on Sunday, Jan. 27 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC and RDS in Canada. NASN and other international broadcasters will provide live coverage of both the Dodge/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 115 countries and territories in Europe. NHL RADIO on Westwood One will provide exclusive, national radio coverage which can be heard on stations around the United States and Canada as well as on XM Satellite Radio's NHL Home Ice and

XM / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports
Western Conference

(as of 12/3/07)​

Player NHL Club Votes
Henrik Zetterberg Detroit 175,270 Pavel Datsyuk Detroit 134,661 Jarome Iginla Calgary 124,337 Joe Sakic Colorado 98,026 Mike Cammalleri Los Angeles 94,187 Joe Thornton San Jose 77,960 Jonathan Cheechoo San Jose 73,908 Rick Nash Columbus 69,242 Paul Stastny Colorado 68,761 Ryan Getzlaf Anaheim 68,384 Marian Gaborik Minnesota 64,637 Jason Arnott Nashville 63,717 Mike Modano Dallas 49,325 Paul Kariya St. Louis 41,236 Anze Kopitar Los Angeles 38,784 Shane Doan Phoenix 36,926 Ryan Smyth Colorado 26,862 Markus Naslund Vancouver 26,568 Ales Hemsky Edmonton 25,490 Martin Havlat Chicago 23,424 Henrik Sedin Vancouver 23,055 Daniel Sedin Vancouver 22,240 Milan Hejduk Colorado 20,963 Andy McDonald Anaheim 17,915 Patrick Marleau San Jose 17,248 Keith Tkachuk St. Louis 16,563 Brian Rolston Minnesota 14,972 Daymond Langkow Calgary 14,443 *Patrick Kane Chicago 11,418 Brenden Morrow Dallas 10,907 David Legwand Nashville 6,723


Nicklas Lidstrom Detroit 246,144 Dion Phaneuf Calgary 170,477 Chris Pronger Anaheim 109,755 Rob Blake Los Angeles 92,724 Francois Beauchemin Anaheim 85,517 Brian Rafalski Detroit 66,336 Scott Hannan Colorado 51,051 Sheldon Souray Edmonton 48,975 Sergei Zubov Dallas 47,344 Ed Jovanovski Phoenix 46,262 Mattias Ohlund Vancouver 43,297 Lubomir Visnovsky Los Angeles 31,279 Robyn Regehr Calgary 19,293

Roberto Luongo Vancouver 121,008 Pascal Leclaire Columbus 116,747 Dominik Hasek Detroit 58,907 Jean-Sebastien Giguere Anaheim 56,923 Niklas Backstrom Minnesota 47,727 Miikka Kiprusoff Calgary 44,711 Evgeni Nabokov San Jose 28,876 Nikolai Khabibulin Chicago 27,078 Marty Turco Dallas 23,114
*write-in candidate