Credit score & insurance rates

Discussion in 'Money & Investing' started by AngelsPeak, Sep 23, 2005.

1. AngelsPeak

AngelsPeak Wanna play?

Soon the 2 will go hand-in-hand. This is something I am totally against, but have no control over....I only write the policies!!
    For now, this will only affect auto insurance, but since auto is part of the essential insurance act I really-really think using someones credit score to determine premium rates is beyond ridiculous!!

2. yooperchick

yooperchick Registered Member

If you are under 25, have caused accidents and/or have points on your license for bad driving, I can see having higher insurance rates. But, I guess I am having a hard time understanding the relationship between your credit score and the probability of getting in an accident.

That news stinks. My credit isn't the greatest but I feel I am a very safe driver. I'm one of those punks who actually go the posted speed limit. I've only been in one accident (knock on wood) and it wasn't my fault - I could not do anything to avoid it (the person decided to go from a stop and slammed right into the side of my truck :().

You don't write for MEEMIC, do you? Is this going to be the norm with ALL insurance companies?

3. AngelsPeak

AngelsPeak Wanna play?

Many of the big name insurance companies are already doing this. From what I understand, you are considered "high risk" if you are consistently late in paying your other bills.
    Most insurance companies prefer to write the cream of the crop...those who have no or very few claims, own a home and have good credit. These people are less likely to "defect" once the policy has been written, and they will more than likely invest in other insurance as well....ie. life/home/health...or even better...financial products!!

4. yooperchick

See...my bills are all paid on time. I just have a high debt to income ratio that pulls down my credit score.