• Welcome to the PopMalt Forums! Whether you're new to forums or a veteran, welcome to our humble home on the web! We're a 20-year old forum community with thousands of discussions on entertainment, lifestyle, leisure, and more.

Our rules are simple. Be nice and don't spam. Registration is free, so what are you waiting for? Join today!.

Computer Science and hobbies

zawmbee

Hello lads, this is a query about how to juggle hobbies (turning into professional studies) and education. Currently I'm only interested in two things: Computer Science and Music Production. Both were narrowed down around last year and both are great hobbies of mine. But I would like to turn them into professionalism and get a job centered around either of them.

Currently I'm at my GCSEs, currently sitting them, and will hopefully be taking A-levels that act accordingly with my hobbies, so Maths, IT, Music and English language. But here comes the problem, I'm not very good at Maths, to the point they might not even allow me to take it :)(), and without it I will be unable to go into a Computer Science course in University.

So my question is, would it be a good idea to take a Sound Engineering/Production course at University instead, and continue to learn Programming languages at home (self-teaching)? Because I really want to be a programmer out of the two, it will surely get me a more stable job and workflow. But I'm unable to receive further teaching and a degree to prove my skills. Which makes me sad.

So, does anyone know a good way to juggle these two hobbies? Is self teaching more effective than going to University and getting a degree? Are there any other ways to take a Computer Science course without Maths?

Thanks for reading and I will appreciate the feedback.

hotdog321