Babies Are Not Amoral Beings

Stegosaurus

Registered Member
Psychological research on babies has shown that they have morals even before being taught them.

The Moral Life of Babies - NYTimes.com

If you don't read all 7 pages, at least watch the 5 minute video.

What are your thoughts on the results of these studies?
You don't even need to read all 7 pages--this favorite quote of mine by Harvey Diamond dovetails quite nicely:

"You put a baby in a crib with an apple and a rabbit. If it eats the rabbit and plays with the apple, I'll buy you a new car." :lol:

But yes, I totally agree for the most part (aside from children who are born with the predisposition to be serial killers, in which case I think the argument is that the part of their brains that process proper emotions like compassion and love are actually malformed). I studied a lot of this in psychology as well as the concept of universal moral cores in my ethics studies as well.

It really throws the "tabula rasa" right out the window.
----
EDIT: Further, many non-human animals have exhibited what can be interpreted as "morals," which makes this even more interesting and blows away Freud's idea of us being born as amoral "animals."

They raise this in the article on page 3, but I have to say that after reading a lot about the claims of "universal moral underpinnings," I have to say I am inclined to believe in them. Certainly higher morals vary by person to person and culture to culture, but really the cornerstones remain similar. I had a hard time swallowing that idea when I first heard it--my kneejerk reaction was, "NO! We are all individuals and free to decide our own morals!" But by the end of the semester of reading through hundreds of pages of arguments, I think there is good reason to believe that a universal moral is fairly well etched into the psyches of humans--whether that is for survival of the species or whatnot.

Last edited:

Wade8813

Registered Member