• Welcome to the PopMalt Forums! Whether you're new to forums or a veteran, welcome to our humble home on the web! We're a 20-year old forum community with thousands of discussions on entertainment, lifestyle, leisure, and more.

Our rules are simple. Be nice and don't spam. Registration is free, so what are you waiting for? Join today!.

Anyone else have experience as an adult student going to college?

TX_Naturalist

Registered Member
First off, I'm a bit nervous. It's been roughly 18 years since I graduated high school. I didn't have the money nor the grades to go to college back then, and so it become one of those things that I'll do someday. I travelled a little bit, worked, got married, had a kid, became a stay at home mom, got divorced, back into the work force and found a decent job that allowed me to support my son and I despite his dad becoming a deadbeat. After some struggles and some blessings my life is finally stable and secure.

And so someday is finally here. A few months back after quitting a demanding, tiresome job that was killing me, just on a whim, I decided to apply to college and for federal aid. Was accepted to college and have enough aid to start taking a couple of classes.

I've gone to take the accuplacer test and today I go to mandatory (for new students) Group Advising. I'm feeling a bit daunted by it all, yet I know I'll do well. I'm old enough to appreciate the opportunity and challenges, but I'm feeling a little overwhelmed, scared and maybe even a little intimidated by all those young, fresh faces - silly I know but I can't seem to shake it.

Anyone else experience a similar situation? Any advice?

shelgarr

Registered Member
No can't say that i have. If I'm correct, you're around age 35? I do remember being in college as a young person and not even giving a second glance or second thought to the "old" people. As for the new venture and road ahead of you....the anticipation is probably a lot worse than the reality. It's all good!