• Welcome to the PopMalt Forums! Whether you're new to forums or a veteran, welcome to our humble home on the web! We're a 20-year old forum community with thousands of discussions on entertainment, lifestyle, leisure, and more.

Our rules are simple. Be nice and don't spam. Registration is free, so what are you waiting for? Join today!.

An ethical dillema

SuiGeneris

blue 3
Hey guys, I miss you, again :(. First off I realized I got to 4k posts...woot!

Second off, I'm sitting here at 2:30 in the morning, when I have to be at work at 7 and I can't sleep. I've been mulling this "ethical dillema" over in my head for quite sometime. Well, I really don't know what to call it, so I'll give you the story as concise as possible.

I work at a job. I'm an assistant manager at said job. I am underpaid, I do most of the work. I have a General Manager. The General Manager likes me, and over all, he does a good job. I am gunning for his job, he knows it, I want money.

However, said General Manager is sending dirty text messages to other employees. These said employees then come to me and talk to me about it. I give them the usual advice "go to the district manager, save the texts..etc..etc" however, the girls never go. In the past year there have been five seperate girls that have come and talked to me about this. Most are scared to lose their jobs (and most have kids and can't afford to lose them.)

I am at my wits end with this. It is extremely unethical and violates so many rules in my back. I can't condone these text messages and I can't understand why nothing has happened.

My store is owned by a man who owns one other store. THere is one other person above my general manager. She is in charge of both stores and works personally with the owners (We all do). Is it my place to bring this to her attention or the owners' attention? Is it unethical, especially since, everyone knows I want his job?

I'm kinda worried too, I can't afford to lose my job.