2006 NHL Awards

Discussion in 'Hockey' started by Kazmarov, Jun 23, 2006.

  1. Kazmarov

    Kazmarov For a Free Scotland

    Here are some, if not all, of the NHL awards awarded today:

    Hart Memorial Trophy, MVP: Joe Thornton, San Jose

    Vezina Trophy, goaltender: Miikka Kiprusoff, Calgary

    James Norris Memorial Trophy, defenseman: Nicklas Lidstrom, Detroit

    Calder Memorial Trophy, rookie: Alexander Ovechkin, Washington

    Lady Byng Memorial Trophy, most gentlemanly: Pavel Datsyuk, Detroit

    Art Ross Trophy, points scoring leader: Joe Thornton, San Jose.

    Maurice Richard Trophy, goals: Jonathan Cheechoo, San Jose

    Lester B. Pearson Award, outstanding player: Jaromir Jagr, N.Y. Rangers.

    Despite West Coast teams usually getting snubbed by Eastern sportswriters, the Sharks made out like bandits.

    Post others that I missed please.

  2. Babe_Ruth

    Babe_Ruth Sultan of Swat Staff Member V.I.P.

    I'm very surprised that Joe Thorton won the Hart Ross trophy I really thought it was going to be Jaromir Jagr, but I'm happy a Canadian one it. Also I'm not surprise on the other selections.
  3. Forbidden

    Forbidden Guest

    I wasn't surprised with any of them except for the Hart Memorial and Vezina. I thought that Jagr and Brodeur would win them, respectfully.
  4. Babe_Ruth

    Babe_Ruth Sultan of Swat Staff Member V.I.P.

    I agree with you that Brodeur should of won instead of Kipper yes he didnt have a good start but at the end of the season like the last 30 games he was the best in the league.

Share This Page